Seminars@PED in 2006

held at One Brattle Square, Harvard University (unless indicated as otherwise)

Date Name/Affiliation Title
3:30pm
Fri 10 Feb
Roger Kouyos
Ecology & Evolution, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Epistasis and the evolution of recombination.
2pm
Fri 24 Feb
Professor Michael Doebeli
Departments of Zoology and Mathematics, University of British Columbia, Canada
Spatial snowdrift games and the tragedy of the commune: Some new perspectives on the problem of cooperation.
2pm
Fri 24 Mar
Joe Yuichiro Wakano, PhD
Meiji Institute for Advanced Study of Mathematical Sciences, Meiji University, Japan
Evolution of cooperation in continuous space public goods games.
2:30pm
Tue 4 Apr
Georg Funk, PhD
University of Basel, Switzerland
Polyomavirus infection dynamics and organ pathology.
1pm
Mon 24 Apr
Professor Matthew Meselson
Thomas Dudley Cabot Professor of the Natural Sciences
Why does sexual reproduction exist?
2:30pm
Tue 25 Apr
Professor Jorge Zubelli
IMPA, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
On a class of models for HIV dynamics.
1pm
Mon 1 May
Professor Philip Holmes
Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, NIMH Silvio O. Conte Center for Neuroscience Research, Princeton University
Optimal decisions in the brain? From neural oscillators to stochastic differential equations.
2pm
Wed 10 May

Niko Beerenwinkel, PhD
Computational Biology Group, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Epistasis and shapes of fitness landscapes.
3pm
Fri 12 May
Christina Muirhead, PhD
Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology

This event co-hosted by John Wakeley and Martin Nowak

held at
Sherman Fairchild
Rm. 177

Balancing selection and the Moran model.

1pm
Fri 9 Jun
Kazutoshi Sasahara, PhD
University of Tokyo
The roles of segmentation ability in language evolution.
3pm
Tue 20 Jun
Naoki Masuda, PhD
Laboratory for Mathematical Neuroscience, Brain Science Institute
RIKEN, Japan
Heterogeneity in connectivity of habitat networks saves stable coexistence of competing species.
1pm
Fri 21 Jul
Professor Martin Polz
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, MIT
Microbial diversity in the wild: Genomes, populations, and species.
11am
Tue 5 Sep
Professor Manfred Milinski
Department of Evolutionary Ecology, Max Planck Society, Munich, Germany
Direct and indirect effects of reputation on inducing cooperation.
2pm
Fri 22 Sep
Stefano Ghirlanda, PhD
Department of Psychology, University of Bologna, Italy
Irrationality in animal communication.
2pm
Wed 25 Oct
Geoff Wild, PhD
University of Western Ontario
Inclusive fitness arguments for homogeneous finite populations.
1pm
Mon 18 Dec
Professor Bruce Walker, MD
Harvard Medical School
HIV evolution and immune control: Perspectives from studies in Africa.